how many times can you take nclex
Naxlex Blog LPN Exam,NCLEX,Nursing,RN Exam How Many Times Can You Take NCLEX?

How Many Times Can You Take NCLEX?

how many times can you take nclex

Becoming a professional nurse requires more tests than college examinations. Nursing students must pass the licensure exam before being allowed to practice their craft. The test nursing candidates must pass is the National Council Licensure Exam (NCLEX). If you fail the exam, you can retake the NCLEX eight times in a year, with 45 days between each failed attempt.

While the NCLEX exam can be challenging for many students, you can get help from qualified NCLEX tutors. You don’t have to attempt your licensure exam eight times after each failed trial. Naxlex is a top test preparation enterprise helping thousands of nursing students excel in their exams on the first attempt. Enroll at Naxlex now for a guaranteed 90% NCLEX score.

Nursing candidates have two options: NCLEX for registered nurses (NCLEX-RN) and NCLEX for practical nurses. The exam can be tricky; as a result, many test takers fail on their initial trial. Gladly, you can retake the exam up to eight times in a year. If you need more time to prepare or don’t have the required materials, Naxlex tutors can help you get a guaranteed A in the exam.

Retaking NCLEX Exam After a Failed Attempt

Each year, hundreds of thousands of nursing hopefuls take the NCLEX exam. Many students wait anxiously, hoping to excel in the exam and qualify for the nursing licensure. While a significant number of exam takers achieve passing scores, many applicants fail on their first attempt. In 2022 for instance, 20% of registered nurses and practical nurses failed the exam on the first trial.

One of the greatest advantages of the NCLEX exam is that it gives those who fail the test an opportunity to retake the exam eight times a year. So, you don’t have to give up because you get the required grade in the second attempt. With Naxlex assistance, you are guaranteed a passing score of 90% or higher. Why fail the exam severally when you can pass the first time?

The National Council of State Boards of Nursing [NCSBN], which is the authoritative body mandated to administer the NCLEX exam, limits the number of trials an individual can retake the exam after a failed attempt. Candidates who fail the test must wait 45 days before the next retake; thus, nursing applicants can retake the test up to 8 times in a year. 

While the NCLEX taking restriction is capped at eight times in a year, overall, there is no limit to the number of times one can retake the test. The NCSBN guidance on the exam applies across the nation. However, certain states require extra processes or restrict the number of limits of taking the exam. Details about these states are shared below.

States Allowing Unlimited NCLEX Attempts

In the US, some jurisdictions have legal policies in place limiting the number of times nursing applicants can retake the NCLEX. Other states offer unlimited opportunities for students to retake the test as long as the NCSBN guidelines are followed. The following are some of the states with unlimited NCLEX restrictions.

  1. Alabama
  2. Arizona
  3. Arkansas 
  4. California
  5. Connecticut
  6. Idaho
  7. Iowa
  8. Kansas
  9. Maine
  10. Maryland
  11. Massachusetts
  12. Montana
  13. Nebraska
  14. New York
  15. North Carolina
  16. North Dakota
  17. South Dakota
  18. Pennsylvania
  19. Ohio
  20. Rhode Island
  21. Virginia
  22. Washington
  23. Wisconsin

Jurisdiction with Extra Rules for Retaking the NCLEX

Suppose you don’t live in one of the states allowing unlimited NCLEX restrictions. In that case, your state may impose additional requirements or restrict the number of times nursing candidates can retake their test. Different states have diverse timelines in which nursing applicants can retake the NCLEX exam.


If you are a resident of Alaska, you must pass the test within two years following your first attempt. Those who fail severally must complete a remedial program before trying the exam.


Nursing applicants in Colorado are allowed to take the NCLEX test three times after the initial trial. Those who want to take a fourth trial within two years must evaluate the areas they are weak. Addressing the weaker areas requires candidates to take remedial courses before retaking the exam for a fourth attempt.


The NCLEX retaking restrictions in Delaware are friendly, as nursing candidates can retake their test up to five years following the initial trial.


If you live in Florida and fail the NCLEX exam three times, you must complete a remedial program approved by the Florida Board of Nursing. Once you complete the remedial course, you will be allowed to retake the test.


The allowed duration for taking the NCLEX exam in Georgia is three years. Nursing candidates must excel in the exam within three years of graduation from a nursing school. 


Nursing applicants residing in Hawaii must pass the NCLEX exam in their third attempt. If you fail the exam three times consecutively, you must retake a remedial course before being allowed to retake the exam. Applicants are allowed to retake the exam six months after finishing the remedial course.


Candidates taking the NCLEX exam within Illinois jurisdiction must pass the exam within three years after the initial attempt. If applicants do not pass the exam within the three-year duration, they must take a remedial course and submit a fresh application for licensure.


Nursing applicants who don’t pass the NCLEX test after three subsequent trials must undergo a procedural review from the nursing board.


Nursing applicants taking the NCLEX test within Kentucky for two or more attempts will receive official communication from the Kentucky Board of Nursing. Upon receipt of the letter, applicants must reapply, pay the required fee, undertake background checks, and retake the test if enough time has elapsed.


Practical nurses in Louisiana can retake the test up to four times within two years following the initial trial. However, they must pass the exam within three years after completing the nursing education. If the applicants fail the NCLEX-PN, they must repeat the entire nursing program before retaking the exam.

As you can see, some states allow unlimited NCLEX test retaking, while other states impose restrictions. Some consequences of the restrictions are far-reaching, including repeating the nursing education training in extreme cases. If you want to save time and resources and pass the NCLEX exam on your first attempt, try Naxlex

Related Post